Dear You, Pt. 2

dear you

We were best friends once. At least in my eyes. But I am almost certain that you felt the same way at one point in time. And in another reality, we are still best friends. On another Earth or on a different star, there we are, our relationship still intact, the sound of our laughter swirling together, creating a gust of infectious joy. But now look at us. What have we devolved to? Mere friends? Acquaintances? Strangers? I still look at the movie stubs that we collected in high school, the ones that we swore we would keep. My bag is sitting prettily, neatly tucked away in the bottom drawer of my desk back at home. You remember that, don’t you? You opened it once and saw a picture of my ex, the one I swore I had gotten over. I don’t think I ever had the chance to thank you for helping me through that time. So thank you. I know it’s late, in all aspects of the word, but thank you. I certainly do miss the hands that held me up on drunken nights. The mouth that never failed to lift up my spirits in times of need (Okay, maybe once or twice resulted in failure, but who’s counting, right?). I certainly do miss those eyes filled with concern, judgement, and everything in between, all at the same time. I miss a lot of things about you. But what I miss the most is having you as a best friend. So please, be well. In whatever you do, please be happy and be well. I sincerely hope to see you again one day. Maybe not soon, but eventually. And possibly then, when we randomly meet for the first time in ages, we will sit down and talk and laugh and wonder, “Why did we ever stop being friends?”

 

Until then,

Me

Leave a Reply

